Robbing the Blog bank !

Phew ! This paperless, 1:1 technology stuff is pretty tough going. I am finding that i have to get in to work a little earlier than usual in order to scan the blogs i subscribe to, whip through the online journals i have found, and to check the twitter feeds of the people i’m following, as well as checking my own, updating my IB film facebook and filtering my emails. In this entry i am going to share the best edublogs and blog sites i have found and used, both in getting this paperless project started and in helping me develop my own 21 C teaching skills.

I have just re-read that paragraph and i feel i must apologize. Honestly, i didn’t think and it just came out. It wont happen again. I didn’t mean to admit that i had been coming into work early, but there is no other way to throw myself into this and i don’t think that the paperless journey or the 1:1 move can be done part-time…it’s all or nothing !

That’s not to say that i wake up everyday, spring out of bed like an Olympic gymnast and rocket to work with unblinking zeal. Don’t get me wrong, if i won the lottery in the next five minutes, the blog may carry on but you wouldn’t be seeing me in person, as my security guards wouldn’t let you on my private island. If i’m honest, i’m not sure that i would tell my family either, because then they’d want to visit all of the time. I’m pretty sure i would tell my wife, eventually, and some of my friends, but i definitely wouldn’t tell that guy who lives opposite and cant work out how not to set his car alarm off about four times every night. Anyway, i digress…

In all seriousness, i am feeling motivated and energized to try new things this year…and i guess this is similar to trying to get students to learn. In order to be successful as a learner, (which is very much how i see myself !) you first have to be motivated and in a learning, “open” frame of mind. This has to be a conscious decision and, for my part, the biggest challenge so far has been making myself work in situations where i don’t know all the answers and have tried to “share” power/control/ the navigation of the lesson …with my students. Not an easy task as it requires a pedagogical shift as well as a technological shift and i can see that i am at the start of a road with no foreseeable end.

Also, and very much connected to this, I see this year as a foundation year and an opportunity to learn and get things wrong and to have no fear of failure when it comes to technology…or the blog. (To steal a phrase from someone, if i’m not making mistakes then i’m probably not on the right track !) I think i have to jump in with both feet and discover new swimming strokes. I have to move the walls of my classroom. I have to push myself and my students into situations where they have autonomy.

Of course, the irony is that i still have to make sure that they WRITE EXAMS WITH PENS AND PAPER, or the results will show that they have learned nothing and that i am a terrible teacher !

It is a juggling act between tradition and technology and i think that this time, ( to indulge all you trudging, knock-need and shoe-less through an MA in education ), when the computer fights the classroom, the computer will win* !

Anyway, this apart…here are some really useful educational blogs to follow, dip in and out of and steal from. (That’s the point, right ?) Anyway, don’t think of it as front-lobe looting, think of it as updating your virtual portfolio of 21C skills !

http://theinnovativeeducator.blogspot.com.ar/2012/04/ten-best-education-blogs.html

http://edudemic.com/2012/10/the-50-education-blogs-reading/

http://plpnetwork.com/2012/05/03/25-top-education-blogs-to-rock-your-world-plpnetwork-chat-recap/

http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2012/12/the-33-best-educational-technology.html

* Computers Meet Classroom: Classroom Wins, Larry Cuban, Stanford University http://sdexter.net/xyz/CompMeets%20Classroom.pdf

3 comments on “Robbing the Blog bank !

  1. Ali says:

    Nice one. It will be interesting for you to see how the kids react to the move back to pen and paper come exam time. Also, it will be interesting to see how the technology affects their success….if that can in fact be measured.

    • Have a read of “The Effect of computers on Student Writing: A Meta-Analysis of Studies from 1992 to 2002”, Journal of Technology, Learning and Assessment, 2,1, Feb 2003 ! Actually, second thoughts, just read the abstract and conclusion.

  2. interesting for you to see how the kids react to the move back to pen and paper come exam time.
    and very much connected to this. thank you more information

Leave a Reply

